Thirty-two high school students arrive on Lindsey Wilson campus for second week of 2016 Rogers Scholars

Thirty-two high schools students from 26 Kentucky counties are on the campus of Lindsey Wilson College (LWC) this week for the second and final session of the 2016 Rogers Scholars program.

The group of rising high school juniors from Southern and Eastern Kentucky arrived on the college campus on Sunday and will be there through Thursday.

Lonnie Lawson, president and CEO of The Center for Rural Development, and Dr. William T Luckey, Jr., president of Lindsey Wilson College, welcomed Rogers Scholars to the program.

Rogers Scholars, an intensive one-week summer youth leadership program, is presented by The Center and hosted on the campus of Lindsey Wilson College in Adair County.

Students will be at The Center on Friday for the final day of the 2016 Rogers Scholars program and will present a graduation program at 7 p.m. in the theatre for family and friends.

2016 Rogers Scholars: Week 2

  • Lauren McQuaide and Lauren Williams: Adair County
  • Cameron Vincent: Bath County
  • Sarah Combs: Bell County
  • Anna Pena: Carter County
  • Harley Byrd: Casey County
  • Bailey Hubbard: Clay County
  • Vivian Zheng: Clinton County
  • Kaylee-Dee Long: Cumberland County
  • Haylee Goodpaster: Elliott County
  • Will Burkhart: Estill County
  • Rebekah Lake: Garrard County
  • Callie Chaney: Knott County
  • Emily Bolinger and Andrew Jones:  Knox County
  • Thomas Callahan: Laurel County
  • DeAnna Deaton: Lee County
  • Kennedy Howard: Leslie County
  • Jessica Cox: McCreary County
  • Kennedy Bates: Metcalfe County
  • Caroline Rushing: Monroe County
  • Hannah Ertel: Owsley County
  • Allie Hagy: Pike County
  • Elisabeth Barnett, Ann Lauren Jacobs, Clayton Dalton, Micah Woolridge, and Greer Rutt: Pulaski County
  • Trevor Hitch: Rowan County
  • Shelby Robertson: Russell County
  • Samuel Kessler: Taylor County
  • Hunter Davis: Wayne County